top of page

Dr. N. Kumar (Chairman)


Born on 29th June 1955 and hailing from ‘Kadukkarai’, a non descript village in Kanyakumari District of Tamil Nadu, Dr.N. Kumar has an excellent academic and professional track record. He began his career as an Assistant Professor in Horticulture during 1979 at TNAU and by consistent and meritorious performance, he rose to occupy the position of Dean of Horticultural college and Research Institute, TNAU, Coimbatore during 2009-2013 before becoming the 13thVice chancellor of the renowned Tamil Nadu Agricultural University, Coimbatore . He was conferred with Life Time Recognition award (2019) by the Confederation of Horticulture Association of India (CHAI), New Delhi during May 2019 and Life Time Achievement Award (2019) in August 2019 by Tamil Nadu Hill Banana Grower’s federation, Dindigul and another one from ICAR – National Research Centre for Banana, Trichy during February, 2020.He was conferred with Agriculture Trade and Technology Award 2019 during September 2019 by the Tamil Nadu Agro Input Traders Association, Kumbakonam. He was also conferred with HaritRatna Award (2019) by the All India Agricultural Students Association during January 2020. He was a recipient of Fellow of Horticultural Society of India ( 2012) and Society for Promotion of Horticulture (2019), five gold medals and nine medals his career spanning over a period of 35 years . His career path has been defined by his admirable scholastic aptitude in teaching and sterling contributions in research , practical approach in extension in the field of horticulture along with keen administrative enthusiasm and capabilities to manage multitude of administrative portfolios.

bottom of page